A reference guide for Educators using Connect at TAFE Queensland.
Locking a topic prevents users from creating new posts or modifying existing posts, making the conversation read only. Users with permission can modify the contents of a locked topic. Locking a topic is an effective way of closing a conversation while allowing users to refer back to posts. Consider locking a topic to end a conversation, then using a pinned summary post inside the topic. When users access the topic, your summary appears at the top.
You can specify start and end dates for when a forum or topic unlocks so you can set things up ahead of time to match your unit’s calendar.
Hidden topics do not display on the Discussions List page, except to users with permission to see hidden forums and topics or to manage discussions. By hiding topics, you can control which topics users can access at different times throughout the unit. For example, you can create weekly discussion topics for users to reflect on the material covered in each week of the unit and make each topic available for one week only.
You can specify start and end dates for when a forum or topic is visible so you can set up visibility ahead of time to match your unit’s calendar.
Instead of scheduling a topic to disappear as soon as you want the discussion to end, consider locking the topic at that point and keeping it visible for another few days. This allows users to review the discussion after it closes so that they don’t miss the last posts added.
If a topic requires post approval or moderation, posts only appear to users with permission to approve them. You must manually approve these posts to make them visible to all users. Users with permission to approve posts in a topic can create approved posts automatically.
You can enable and disable post approval from the Properties tab when creating or editing a forum or topic. Once you enable post approval, a Moderated notification appears beside the forum or topic name.
If a post is not appropriate for the topic and you do not want to approve it, you can do any of the following:
You must manually approve posts and threads in topics that require approval. Once you approve a post or thread, it is visible to all users. To hide the post or thread, you must unapprove it.